Some of The Faces of Cusco, Peru

Today was a walk around Cusco. It is a gateway to Machu Picchu.  It has a lot of charm with many restaurants, hostels and tourist information outlets.  Lance and I visited several museums about the history of the early Incas and Machu Picchu.  We even visited a Chocolate Factory and Museum.  We watched the beans come from the pod and tasted the coca from the bean.  Was not to tasty.  Then we watched the process and tasted the finish goods.  Yum!  Below are a few photos of the faces that we ran into today on our adventures of Cusco.

IMG_5648 (3)

If you look close you can see two baby Alpaccas

IMG_5671

Off to a day in Cusco of museums and getting a look into the faces of Cusco…..

IMG_5650 (2)

IMG_5651 (2) IMG_5674 (2)

After exchanging a few smiles I got this photo of this young boy’s curiosity.

IMG_5656 IMG_5681 (2) IMG_5688 (2) IMG_5689 IMG_5691 IMG_5666

There are many Church’s

IMG_5669

We are going into the door of the Chocolate Factory.  They pronounce the cocoa bean as a Coca bean.

IMG_5670

We sat in one of those balcony’s to taste the Coca Tea.  To be honest I was afraid to sit with my entire body on the chair.  Afraid of heights and all I could think of is…when is the balcony so old as to fall.  Smile.

IMG_5685

15 thoughts on “Some of The Faces of Cusco, Peru

    • It is such a amazing place Faye. A mix of beauty and poverty. The colors are everywhere. I am having a hard time over the dogs here. They are everywhere, homeless and hungry. I think how lucky my two little boys are at home with a live in babysitter …for $1000 just to take care of them. I wish I could muster up 400 crates and bring them back. I wouldn’t know what to do with them when I got them back home. I know it isn’t practical but this is what my heart feels. DANG!

  1. Pam & Lance,
    The hats the women wear in Peru give an indication of their social status and success as business people. Certain hats indicate that the business woman speaks more than one language. You see a lot of white fedora style hats on these business women at the local markets.

    We loved Cusco! Have fun at Machu Picchu!
    Patti & John

    • Thanks Diane, it is a amazing place. It is a mix of beauty and poverty. I do have a hard time over the dogs here. They are everywhere, homeless and hungry. Pitiful. I wish I had 30K dog crates to bring them all back with me. Stay tuned.

  2. Keep them coming, I’m enjoying everyone of your photos. I love the colours the women wear, it’s as if I’m there with you. Great stuff!

    Len

    • Thanks Len, It is an amazing place. There is a lot of beauty and a lot of poverty. I am having a hard time over the dogs. So many dogs with no homes and running around everywhere hungry. I wish I had 30,000 dog crates to bring them all home in. UGH!

  3. Pammy the artist in you must be going crazy. Even I am itching to pick up a brush. Look at the face of the lady with Lama. Oh my gosh I think this must be just amazing. 🙂 Hugs to you and Lance

    On Tue, Feb 4, 2014 at 3:50 PM, Heidinger Happenings wrote:

    > Lance and Pam Heidinger posted: “Today was a walk around Cusco. It is > a gateway to Machu Picchu. It has a lot of charm with many restaurants, > hostels and tourist information outlets. Lance and I visited several > museums about the history of the early Incas and Machu Picchu. We even > vis”

  4. These people have a very distinctive look. The women look short and stout. Is that a fair assessment? I love the colorful clothing. Another great day in the lives of the traveling Heidingers!!!

Leave a Reply

