Panda Heaven

I got to experience a bit of heaven today. I visited the Giant Panda Breeding reserve . Saw Baby Panda’s up close and personal. I loved every second. For a donation of 2000 RMB you can even hold one. I got to put my arms around a Panda and he kept trying to hold my hand. Their fur feels coarse like a scrub brush which surprised me a bit. Anyway, you can tell by the photo’s I loved it. If anyone ever get’s to Chengdu it is a must see and do.

A Panda named Oreo captured my heart while he kept wanting to hold my hand. I had my arm around him. I can’t tell you how exciting that was. They say there is only 182 Panda’s in captivity in the world. They said there is only a little over 1000 in the wild. I felt so privileged to to be so close. I have a lot of video clips that are so neat. I have no way to upload them here in China as everything is blocked. I can’t even get into my blog to approve all the comments. DANG! There is so much that hasn’t been said about China. I tried to just focus on the positive which is the people. I plan to write a Synopsis of the trip with all the scoop I learned. There are definitely things one needs to know when coming to visit. I was too nervous in putting the more negative in email form while in China. If anyone wants a copy of that email I can email it to you when I get back. Just email me privately and I will mail it to those who would be interested. When you think of China…three words come to mind. “The Good, Bad and the Ugly.”

IMG_4836

So we have arrived at the Panda Breeding Preserve and was greeted by this Panda mother and baby sculpture.

IMG_4793 IMG_4794 IMG_4790

These little babies were so small and fragile.  It was thrilling to be in the Nursery.

IMG_4803 IMG_4805 IMG_4809

Now I get to finally meet Mr. Oreo! Here is a 2 minute video clip of the experience!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1croCqvhW1c&feature=c4-overview&list=UUcjbYWg49BWNzFohigOfvaQ

IMG_4828 IMG_4827 IMG_4824 IMG_4821 IMG_4820 IMG_4818 IMG_4816

4 thoughts on “Panda Heaven

  1. You finally got to hold a Panda. How terrific!! And your photos are great. I’m pretty sure the trip there was worth the wait. Have a great time in Beijing!! A got a couple of hilarious notes from Lance-he’s sooooo funny. We enjoyed your visit to Shanghai and Xi’an!! Take care!! GR

    >________________________________ > From: Heidinger Happenings >To: robertsge@yahoo.com >Sent: Wednesday, September 18, 2013 2:57 PM >Subject: [New post] Panda Heaven > > WordPress.com >Lance and Pam Heidinger posted: “I got to experience a bit of heaven today. I visited the Giant Panda Breeding reserve . Saw Baby Panda’s up close and personal. I loved every second. For a donation of 2000 RMB you can even hold one. I got to put my arms around a Panda and he kept trying ” >

Leave a Reply

